BEYOND THE HYPE: ANDRE JUDD

Det var roligt att klicka upp lookbook imorse och hitta en intervju med min favorit på sidan. Hans design och looks är galet inspirerande och annorlunda, jag brukar lägga upp de här, så om det är fler som gillar de så lägger jag även intervjun här!

Tell us a little bit about yourself and where you live.

I'm Andre Judd and I live in Manila, Philippines. I work for a fashion retail company and I design accessories, swimwear, underwear, shoes, and yes, fragrances! Outside that retail environment, I'm a stylist and a contributing fashion editor.

How did you first get interested in fashion and why is it important?

I was exposed to fashion at a very young age. While I was growing up, I would tag along with my dad when he went to his tailor to have his shirts made. My mom also had her pieces custom made by her favorite designers—very much similar to the couture tradition. That, I guess, would be the catalyst for all of this. [Fashion is] important because its a way of life. I never really think of it as a separate concept, or fashion being fashion…it's a part me, and it just is.

What are your passions?

FASHION! (Obviously.) Traveling, music, art, film, photography, cultures, and advertising.

 

How do you describe the fashion scene in Manila compared to other major cities/fashion capitals?

Vibrant, raw in the sense that it's not contrived, youthful, exciting, in the process, unique. :)

What do you love about living in Manila?

All the metropolitan lifestyle choices at a relatively low cost of living. That and the accessibility to my family and friends.

Top 3 places to visit in Philippines:

I'd say Palawan, Cebu and Boracay; beaches famous for their amazing powder fine sand and crystal blue waters. I chose these three because we are a country of 7,100 islands. At least if you're not happy with these, you still have 7,097 to choose from, hehe.

Describe your personal style and its influences/inspiration.

There is a word I coined for myself—"avant-gardien"—it's a combination of being experimental and being the advance guard (so to speak) when it comes to sartorial choices. It represents me and my aesthetic. I'm also a postmodernist because I defy a lot of standard, accepted conventions.

Favorite designers and places to shop?

I support local labels so my wardrobe is mostly stocked with Filipino designers—either bespoke or off of their current collections. Protacio, Bo Parcon, M Barretto, Marlon Rivera, and Jerome Ang. I also love Hong Kong: Lane Crawford, Joyce, I.t., and Seoul, Korea's Dongdaemun and Myeongdong districts. When it comes to international brands there are a handful. I adore them mostly because they set the bar: Balenciaga, Celine, Prada, Givenchy, Dior Homme..

The first thing you look at in another person's outfit is:

Footwear. It says a lot about a person's character—a good pair of shoes reflect particular tastes and choices. And shoes always make OR break an outfit.

What do you skimp on?

Perfume. Because I usually get them as gifts, hehe. :)

What do you splurge on?

Travel.

A fashion rule you always break:

I think I've broken all [the rules] in the book.

A fashion rule you never break:

See answer above. Hehe.

 

What do you think is the most recent notable trend to appear/reappear, and what are your thoughts on it?

The fabulous excess of 90's Versace. H&M had the correct foresight to collaborate with Donatella for that Gianni Versace tribute. Baroque prints, gilded surfaces, Greek tile patterns are all a bold counterpoint for everything austere, restrained and understated. It's about time maximalism makes a comeback.

What is the most underrated item in menswear and womenswear?

Menswear: jewelry.
Women: pant-suits.

Your favorite colour(s) of the moment are:

Gold and silver.

What is your next "must have" purchase?

Prada's Spring/Summer 2012 men's studded golf shoe brogue hybrid.

What is the ultimate showpiece in your closet?

A vintage Gianni Versace leather bomber jacket with chain mail detail. It has great sentimental value to me.

Are there any fashion icons or famous people whose style you admire?

With so many on the list I'd like a collective answer: LOOKBOOK.nu.

What's on your iPod/bookshelf/DVD player at the moment?

iPod: Ellie Goulding's Lights album. I'm playing Animal nonstop.
Bookshelf: Carine Roitfeld's Irreverent
DVD: Nick and Norah's Infinite Playlist

What can't you live without?

The internet.

What is your personal favorite outfit on LOOKBOOK.nu by you, and by another member?

No favorites as each one is as special as the last. Same goes to all the looks of my lookbook friends.

Next place you want to travel to (and why):

Russia. I'd like to have a lookbook photo in the Red Square. Hehe.

In the year 2016 you will be:

5 years older, more independent, and be in a career that I'm happy to die in.

What would you say to someone seeking fashion advice?

Never say never.

What should we ask the next interviewee?

Who do you think is the Steve Jobs of Fashion?